Author Topic: Help with NHD 5.0" TFT Display (NHD-5.0-800480TF-ATXL#-T)  (Read 2152 times)

winsmen

• View Profile
Help with NHD 5.0" TFT Display (NHD-5.0-800480TF-ATXL#-T)
« on: March 23, 2016, 05:11:06 AM »
Hi!!

I am relatively new to displays and using them in custom designed systems. I have the NHD 5.0" display mentioned as the subject of this post and have been trying to get it to run, first at least with an Arduino and then later maybe step it up to some other controller after having understood the operation and requirements of the display. After going through the provided documentation and following it as far as possible, I still wasn't able to get the screen to even switch on. So to try and understand what I'm currently doing wrong with my setup, I'd like to clear a few doubts:

1. In the NHD-5.0-800480TF-ATXL#-T, is there a display driver provided in the display module itself, or do I have to connect the display to a display driver which would be controlled by my Arduino? The documentation says that the A in ATXL of the product code denotes that a driver (the OTA7001a in this model) is part of the display module. I physically cannot see any driver on the module or on its flexible PCB part either.

2. If there isn't a controller on the module, can I use any other display driver to run this display? I'm quite interested in making use of FTDI's FT800 for this as I was pretty comfortable with its documentation and thus feel it wouldn't be a very big hurdle for me to work with.

3. Is there any documentation showing sample circuits/setups of the display with the required electronics and other peripherals? The NHD Application Notes page does have a section with sample Arduino codes for various displays, including the one I'm working with, but they don't help clear any doubts in terms of hardware.

Any help that would get me to understand this display better would be highly appreciated. Thanks. :)

Saurabh_B

• Administrator
    • View Profile