Newhaven Display Forum

Newhaven Products => TFTs => Topic started by: ara715 on December 16, 2015, 06:02:05 PM

Title: NHD-5.0-800480TF with IMX5 Arm Cortex A8 processor Android
Post by: ara715 on December 16, 2015, 06:02:05 PM
Hello,

we are currently integrating the NHD-5.0-800480TF display to a I.MX51 Cortex A8 arm processor running Android.  I can see all the display and read the text fine.  The only problem is the color is off and flickers.  the Text does not jump around just the colors.  Can anyone tell me if this is a clock issue or refersh issue?

I have configured it for the following settings:
struct fb_videomode {
   const char *name;   
   u32 refresh;      60
   u32 xres;                 800
   u32 yres;                 480
   u32 pixclock;           34209  around 25Mhz
   u32 left_margin;      40
   u32 right_margin;    40
   u32 upper_margin;  39
   u32 lower_margin;  13
   u32 hsync_len;       48
   u32 vsync_len;       3
   u32 sync;                0
   u32 vmode;            FB_VMODE_NONINTERLACED
   u32 flag;                 0
};



Best Regards
Alex
Title: Re: NHD-5.0-800480TF with IMX5 Arm Cortex A8 processor Android
Post by: Paul_B on December 17, 2015, 08:00:29 AM
Hi Alex,

Sounds like an awesome project! Its a little difficult to tell by your photo, however it would appear that your pxl-clk isn't configured correctly. Can you please try and upload some additional pictures?

Finally, please review the timing below which has worked for me in the past  ;)

Code: [Select]
display-timings {
+ native-mode = <&timing0>;
+ /* Settings for NHD-5.0-800480TF-ATXL#: */
+ timing0: 800x480 {
+ clock-frequency = <45000000>;
+ hactive         = <800>;
+ vactive         = <480>;
+ hback-porch     = <40>;
+ hfront-porch    = <40>;
+ hsync-len       = <48>;
+ vback-porch     = <29>;
+ vfront-porch    = <13>;
+ vsync-len       = <3>;
+ hsync-active = <0>;
+ vsync-active = <0>;
+ };
Title: Re: NHD-5.0-800480TF with IMX5 Arm Cortex A8 processor Android
Post by: ara715 on December 17, 2015, 02:07:22 PM
I tried changing the setting to run a 45Mhz but here is what i still get. 

Best Regards,
Alex