Newhaven Display Forum

Newhaven Products => OLEDs => Topic started by: Analogic on December 05, 2014, 10:09:48 AM

Title: NHD-0420DZW-AB5 SPI Clarification
Post by: Analogic on December 05, 2014, 10:09:48 AM
I am attempting to interface the above OLED display to an FPGA using the SPI interface and the display's data sheet is not very clear.  Was hoping someone could answer a few questions for me:

1) the data sheets timing diagram shows two 10bit words output back to back.  When sending a command to the display (for example "RETURN HOME") will I need to send the bit sequence twice as the data sheet suggests: "00000000100000000010" or can I just perform a single 10 bit transfer? 

2) If the command needs to be sent twice, what does the display return in the "VALID DATA" Byte?

3) When reading the Status register or a DDRAM location, is it possible to extend the transfer (keep CSB low) on a read operation to allow continuous reading of multiple DDRAM locations or continuously query the busy flag?

4) when writing to DDRAM, can I use a single transfer (keep CSB low) to write all 20 bytes of a line?  Would the address counter be automatically incremented?

Thanks

Title: Re: NHD-0420DZW-AB5 SPI Clarification
Post by: Chris O. on December 05, 2014, 09:38:48 PM
Hi
I'm a happy user of the Newhaven-NHD-0420DZW-AY5.
But i use this datasheets http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/WS0010.pdf (http://www.adafruit.com/datasheets/WS0010.pdf)

The main differences in the instructions.
1) Has a Character mode and a Graphic Mode so it requires one additional step to specify the mode which it runs in.
2) The "Function Set" instruction requires you to specify which Font Tables (2 available) to use.
3) Has a Bit in one of the instructions to allow you to turn enable/disable the internal power, Embedded DC-DC voltage converter ,Brightness DIM/FULL  :)

I'm not 100% sure if Newhaven Display use ( WS0010 OLED ) Driver/Controller IC utilizing CMOS Technology specially designed to display
alphanumeric and Japanese kana characters as well as symbols and graphics.
But i did get the Brightness DIM/FULL  control by going in the graphic mode and set the internal power ON/OFF.

I hope this helps.
Chris O.
 ;)